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Or go to Featured Links on fhe website:

http://www.maine.gov/agriculture/
index.shtml

Animal Welfare Program
28 State House Station
90 Blossom Lane
Deering Building
Augusta ME 04333
Phone: 207-287-3846
Fax: 207-287-7548
animal.welfare@maine.gov

YOU CAN SAVE ANOTHER
ANIMAL’S LIFE!

Contact your town office.



If You Are Licensing
Your Dog For the First
Time in MAINE:

. You must have a current rabies
vaccination certification issued by
a licensed veterinarian.

. You must have an accurate
description of your dog, including
your dog’'s name, breed, sex,
color and the year bomn.

. You must have a written state-
ment from your veterinarian that
clearly states your pet is altered
and/or sterile to qualify for the low
cost altered license fee.

. You must have the required
licensing fee, i.e. $11.00 for
unaitered fertile dog and $6.00 for
altered or sterile dog.

WHY LICENSE YOUR DOG?:

1. Because rabies is increasing in
Maine, licensing helps to insure
public safety by requiring proof of a
valid rabies vaccination before a
license is issued.

2. By licensing your dog YOU are
directly helping the fight against
animal cruelty and abuse. Up to
90% of the dog license fees
collected go directly to the State of

‘Maine Animal Welfare Program to
support cruelty investigations.

3. By licensing your dog you are
demonstrating responsible pet
ownership. Displaying a current
State of Maine tag on your dog’s
collar shows that you have taken a
necessary step toward your
responsibility to your pet’'s well
being and the
community’s
safety.

Be Responsible...
License Your Dog!
ITISTHE
LAW It

Excerpts From the State of
Maine Animal Welfare Laws
and Regulations:

Chapter 721

Sub. 3921. A dog may not be kept
within the limits of the State, unless the
dog has been licensed by its owner or
keeper in accordance with the laws of
this State.

Sub. 3922

License: January 1st. Each owner of
keeper of a dog at the age of 6 months
or more, on or before January 1st of
each year shall obtain a license.

Proof of immunization.

A municipal clerk may not issue a
license for a dog until the applicant has
filed with the clerk proof that the dog
has been immunized against rabies.
Rabies Tags.

An owner shall ensure that a rabies tag
obtained from a veterinarian for
immunization from rabies is securely
attached to a collar of leather, metal, or
material of comparable strength and
that the collar is worn at all times by the
dog for which the rabies tag was
issued. ‘



